The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is given every three years to projects that set new standards of excellence in architecture, planning practices, historic preservation and landscape architecture. Through its efforts, the Award seeks to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of societies across the world, in which Muslims have a significant presence.

The review of the projects and the selection of award recipients is the responsibility of an independent master jury specially appointed for each award cycle. Each jury is multidisciplinary, bringing together specialists in fields such as history, philosophy, art, engineering, and architectural preservation in addition to practising architects, landscape architects, and urban planners. After evaluating the projects, the master jury selects the awards recipients and determines the apportionment of the US$ 1,000,000 prize fund.

In conjunction with the Aga Khan Trust for Culture awards programme, the University of Auckland’s School of Architecture and Planning is excited to host this exhibition which features shortlisted projects from the most recent cycle of this prestigious award.


Date and Time
Exhibition open daily Wednesday 25 September – Sunday 6 October 2019
11:00am – 4:00pm

George Fraser Gallery
25A Princes Street
Auckland City

Alioune Diop University Lecture Building

Author nziasa

More posts by nziasa